Airtel Cup Parade In Boardroom

By Mphatso Sam

Blantyre, August 10, Mana: Silver Strikers Football Club Executive Committee will meet over the weekend to review its decision on whether to parade the Airtel Top 8 Cup after the Area 47 side clinched the cup.

For some time now, it has been a tradition for most of the top-flight league teams to parade league or cup trophies around the cities in which the team is based after being crowned champions.

Silver Strikers become the two-time winner of the Airtel Top 8 Championship after beating rookies, Karonga United 1-0 at the magnificent Bingu National Stadium (BNS) in area 48 in Lilongwe on June 29, 2019 through Khuda Muyaba’s lone strike.

On Monday, Airtel Malawi Limited through its Managing Director, Charles Kamoto presented the Airtel Top 8 Trophy to the bankers at their backyard, Silver Stadium.

Silver Strikers General Secretary, Lawrence Yobe told journalists after grabbing the second richest cup on the land that they want to parade the cup around the capital city and that they were working on the programme of the top 8 cup parade.

He told Malawi News Agency (Mana) on Thursday that the Executive Committee would like to consult security agents to establish whether the environment is conducive considering the post-election demonstrations being organized by the Human Rights Defenders Coalition.

“Specifically, we wanted to deliver the trophy to our patron first, Dalitso Kabambe, Governor of the Reserve Bank of Malawi, who are our sponsors. We thought we should look into the possibility of parading it in the streets of Lilongwe.

“In terms of the security issues, we haven’t been advised otherwise by the security agencies so during our meeting, we will make a decision on whether we will parade it and when if it deems necessary to do so,” Yobe said.

In 2016, Kamuzu Barracks, paraded the TNM Super League Trophy in Lilongwe while Mighty Be Forward Wanderers paraded the FISD Challenge Cup and in 2017, they paraded the elite league trophy in Blantyre. Last year, Bullets paraded the Super League Cup.

Airtel Top 8 Cup which was introduced in 2017 to the tune of K198 million for three seasons was first won by Silver Strikers after beating Wanderers while Blue Eagles lived to its glory in 2018.

Silver Strikers pocketed K15 million for being champions of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.