20 Presidential Candidates For May 21 Elections


The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) wishes to inform the general public that at the close of business on Thursday, January 24, 2019 the following candidates had collected nomination papers with an intention to contest for office of the President on May 21, 2019:

  1. Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika, Democratic Progressive Party
  2. Mr Henry Jailos Mdebwe, Independent
  3. Mr Smart Swira, Independent
  4. Dr Saulos Klaus Chilima, UTM
  5. Pastor Dr Baxter Boyd Natulu, Independent
  6. Mr Peter DSD Kuwani, Mbakuwaku Movement for Development
  7. Dr Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, Malawi Congress Party 1 8. Dr Joyce Hilda Mtila Banda, People’s Party
  8. Ras Chikomeni David Chirwa, Independent
  9. Dr Cassim Chilumpha, Tikonze Peoples Movement (TPM)
  10. Mr Chimbuna Belekiah, United Independence Party (UIP)
  11. Hon Atupele Austin Muluzi, United Democratic Front (UDF)
  12. Dr Chris Daza, Democratic Peoples Congress (DEPECO)
  13. Hon Enock Chihana, Alliance for Democracy (Aford)
  14. Prof John Chisi, Umodzi Party (UP)
  15. Mrs Sally Kumwenda Yadwad, Leadership with Compassion
  16. Reverend D.H. Kaliya, Independent
  17. Mr Loudon Malingamoyo Phiri, National Salvation Front (NASAF)
  18. Ms Florence Fulayi, Independent
  19. Mr Rhodrick Makhambera, Independent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.